This is the "Citing Sources" page of the "Citing and Researching" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Libraries and DatabasesSearch TipsTrustworthy Online Resources

Citing and Researching  Tags: research citation mla apa quoting plagiarism  

Links to help finding, evaluating, synthesizing and documenting research
Last update: Jan 30th, 2010 URL: http://writingcenter.scottsdalecc.libguides.com/Researching_and_Citing  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Citing Sources            Print Page
  
 

Online Citation Tools: A Warning

While MS Word 2007 and other on-line resources offer automatic MLA/APA formatting tools for citations, these systems are NOT ALWAYS ACCURATE and do not allow for formatting of all pertinent information.

If you use these online tools, listed at the SCC Library's Citation Guide, it is important to double check the accuracy of your results against a style sheet such as those linked to in this guide.

>Seriously<

 
 

Citing Sources: Most Commonly Requested SCC Downloads

From The Writing Center @ SCC:

 

Citing Sources: Database Tools from the SCC Library

Many of the SCC Library databases will help you format your citations, and the SCC Library has provided instructions for popular databases on their Citation Guide. However,  as with online citation tools, results are not always accurate.  Double-check your results against a style sheet like those linked to in the boxes above or below.

 

 

Citation Links for Various Formats

MLA

MLA Style, a 2009 guide from SCC's Library

Documenting Sources: A Hacker Handbooks Supplement, a guide to 2009 MLA style. Includes examples and a model essay (PDF)

APA

APA Reference List, 6th ed. (PDF), a guide from SCC's Writing Center (Thanks, Erin!)
APA Parenthetical Citation, 6th ed. (PDF), also from Erin @ SCC's WC

APA Style, a guide from SCC's Library

APA Style Guide to Electronic References, full text in PDF format.  Also from SCC's Library.

Chicago
(Turabian)

Chicago (Turabian) Style, from SCC's Library

Medical Citing medicine, the NLM style guide for authors, editors, and publishers

Science
and
Engineering

A Science and Engineering reference citation styles guide from USC

Various
Styles

Links to myriad Styles for Citing Sources from Turnitin

Bedford/St. Martin's guide to citing on-line resources in a variety of Citation Styles

De Pauw University's Citation Guides, a LibGuide

Annotated
Bibliography

How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography, from Cornell

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

More Citation Links

 
 

How May We Help You?

The Writing Center at Scottsdale Community College

To currently registered SCC students, The Writing Center offers free in-person tutoring in foreign languages, English as a Foreign Language, and writing.  We also offer  guides on various topics including writing, researching, foreign languages and grammar.

Visit us on campus  in LC 379

Call 480.423.6416 to make an appointment

Chat Ask An English Tutor!  

Click  The WC @ SCC for more information

Tweet  SCCWC

Tumbl el si

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait